Name des Museums
Titel des Bildes
Back to the search

Schleswig City Museum
Friedrichstraße 9-11
24837  Schleswig

Fax: 04621/9368-19
E-Mail: stadtmuseum@schleswig.de

Opening Hours

Tue-Sun 10 am - 5 pm, closed on Dec. 24th, 25th, 31st and Jan. 1st, open on Mondays only on holidays

The „Stadtmuseum“ (City Museum) welcomes its visitors at the gatehouse. Two timber-framed buildings flank the well-kept inner courtyard. Opposite the gatehouse you see one of the most beautiful noble residences of the 17th/18th century in Schleswig-Holstein: the “Günderothsche Hof”. Once the visitors of the dukes of Gottorf lodged there. Since 1932 the building houses the “Stadtmuseum” whose foundations were laid in 1879. The museum shows the development of one of the oldest cities in Northern Europe, starting with archaeological finds and ending with works by contemporary Schleswig artists. The collection of Dr. Gunkel consists of historical toys. Replicas invite the young and young-at-heart to try them out.
The “Teddy Bär Haus” (teddy bear house) is located in a building of the 18th century. Here early and rare pieces of well-known companies like Steiff, Hermann and Schuco are presented. They are accompanied by nameless bears of unknown origin which are charming representatives of their kind as they bear traces of children's deep affection. The collection is completed by a zoo of other stuffed animals like fish, horses, ducks and elephants.